How Beckett revived and then killed the hobby for me

Posted on

Years back when i decided to collect baseball cards again,i used Beckett price guides as a tool to price what i already had and what was currently hot on the market.I loved the covers,articles and to be frank,there wasn’t another magazine i would have rather gone to the bathroom with.The price point was also easy on the pockets.Then came the price hike.I can’t remember exactly what changed,i’m thinking the magazine doubled in size causing the price to increase.So i gave up on the more expensive magazines and tried out their online guide.The fact that i would also be able to organize my cards-FOR FREE-gave me an incentive to sign up and pay the one time fee (anywhere from 6 to 9 bucks,can’t remember exactly)to include the price guide feature,which added prices and values of cards already in my organized collection.There were no recurring charges for the price guide either.If after a month i decided not to renew,the price guide feature went bye-bye. I loved it!I also bought many a card from their marketplace section and really grew my collection as a result.Then came the dreaded re-launch of the Beckett website and with it new fees.No longer was i going to be able to see my collection online because now i would have to pay the recurring monthly fee in order to recieve the organize feature.I really lost interest in the site at that point,moved onto Etopps for a bit and then ultimately halted my card collecting ways.Last i checked the monthly fee was 9 bucks but i’m not sure if i would have to commit to a year long subscription.

Leave a Reply

